Africa News News

DR Congo officially joins the East African Community (EAC)

East African Community (EAC) Heads of State have officially admitted the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) into the East African Community.

The Chair of the Summit of EAC Heads of States Kenya’s President Uhuru Kenyatta announced this during the virtual 19th Extra-Ordinary Summit of EAC Heads of State.

President Kenyatta welcomed the move saying: “Admission of the DRC marks a momentous occasion in the region’s integration history.”

DRC now becomes the 7th member state of the East African Community.

The Summit is preceded by the 48th Extra-Ordinary Meeting of the EAC Council of Ministers, which took place on Friday, 25th March, 2022 to consider the provisional agenda and programme of the 19th Extra-Ordinary Summit of the EAC Heads of State on Admission of the DRC into the EAC.

President Kagame said Rwanda supports the admission of the DRC into the region and stands ready to play its part in supporting the integration of the DRC into the EAC.

Others who welcomed the move were Tanzania President Samia Suluhu.

Related posts

South Africa gets 750 million USD loan from World Bank for fighting COVID-19


Uhuru invites Dubai investors to Kenyan market


Thousands of Congolese flee to Uganda following rebel attacks


Leave a Comment