Kenya News Politics News

EALA MPs to be sworn in on December 19

The nine representatives to the East African Legislative Assembly will be sworn in on December 19 in Arusha, Tanzania.

The nine who will serve for a term of five years were selected from both Azimio and Kenya Kwanza factions in accordance with the EALA constitution.

They include Kennedy Kalonzo, Winnie Odinga, former Kieni MP Kanini Kega and businessman Suleiman Shahbal who will represent Azimio La Umoja.

Former MP David Sankok, former Mombasa senator Hassan Omar, Mwangi Maina, Kering Zipporah and Iman Falhada were nominated by the Kenya Kwanza camp. 

EALA Elections Act, 2011 provides that a new assembly is elected within 90 days before the expiry of the term of the subsisting assembly.

Currently, the EALA membership stands at 62 with 54 elected members from all the partners and eight ex-official members.

The ex-official members are the six ministers from each state responsible for regional cooperation, where in the case of Kenya, CS Rebecca Miano is the representative.


Related posts

Nicaraguan opposition leader Suazo sentenced to 10 years in prison


KeNHA announces 12-hour closure of Lang’ata road


SA president Cyril Ramaphosa should not resign~ Dr Matsanga


Leave a Comment